according to emily zager…

The VMAs and Social Media… Striking Gold?

Posted on: September 14, 2009

So I watched the live 2009 MTV Video Music Awards last night. As much as I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the TV screen, I couldn’t stop thinking about how the show would directly influence the PR world and social media networks. There’s already been hundreds of mentions in blogs, news outlets and Twitter, of course. It seems like everyone, whether they saw it live or today via YouTube, has something to say in response to the type of TV that has the media world in a mini frenzy.  I admit, I tweeted about the VMAs last night – it was controversial, fascinatingly unscripted television at its finest.

I’m glad I didn’t wake up today knowing I was Kanye West’s publicist.

Here’s a quick article via Reuters about the show: http://bit.ly/x0M1E

Leave a Reply

Emily received her BA in Advertising & Public Relations from Loyola University Chicago in May 2010. She is inquisitive by nature and loves to surround herself with new situations, people and the world around her.

Emily is a lifelong dancer, a current ballroom dance instructor, and lover of all things social media. She's currently searching for a new career opportunity in PR, event planning or advertising. Take a peek at her musings about media, branding & the PR indsutry.

Follow me on Twitter!

My del.icio.us.

my calendar…

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives…

